Placeholder Image
December 2, 2022

ENMAX Board announces new Directors


Calgary, Alta. – The Board of Directors of ENMAX Corporation (ENMAX) is pleased to announce the appointment of Nipa Chakravarti and Byron Neiles to the ENMAX Board, effective Friday, December 2, 2022.

Ms. Chakravarti has built a career bringing innovation to teams including finance, operations, systems and procurement. She is currently Senior Vice President, Marketing at Inter Pipeline Ltd., where she has held senior management roles since 2018. Prior to joining Inter Pipeline Ltd., Ms. Chakravarti served as the Chief Transformation Officer and as Vice President of Information Technology for TransAlta Corporation, held the position of Vice President of Customer Service at FortisAlberta, and was a Senior Manager, Consulting at KPMG.

Ms. Chakravarti holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree in finance from Queen’s University and is also a Chartered Professional Accountant. She also serves on the Board of the Prostate Cancer Centre.

Mr. Neiles has close to 30 years of experience in the energy industry. He is currently the Executive Vice President and Chief Administrative Officer at Enbridge Inc., where he leads the IT, human resources, real estate, supply chain management, public affairs, communications and sustainability teams. Mr. Neiles previously held roles at Enbridge as Senior Vice President, Major Projects and Enterprise Safety and Operational Reliability. Prior to joining Enbridge Inc., Mr. Neiles served as Vice President of Customer, Regulatory and Public Affairs with Enbridge Gas Distribution and was a policy advisor to two Canadian federal energy ministers.

Mr. Neiles holds an MBA from the University of Calgary, a Bachelor of Arts degree in political science from the University of Regina and is a graduate of the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School. He is co-chair of the annual Global Business Forum in Banff, a trustee of the Makadiff Sports and Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra foundations, as well as a member of cabinet of the OWN Cancer Campaign with the Alberta Cancer Foundation.

Greg Melchin, the current Board Chair, and Kathleen Sendall, the current Governance Committee Chair, are retiring from the ENMAX Board. The Board and Executive team would like to thank them both for their many years of exemplary service and contributions to our organization. With their departure, the Board has appointed Charles Ruigrok as Board Chair and Barbara Munroe as Governance Committee Chair.